Total Pageviews

Wednesday, 30 May 2012

Standard Life Asssurance Building - decaying history


      Standard life assurance building 

One of the most beautiful architecture of the British age in India was built in 1896. The construction started in February, 1894 and was completed two years later in May 1896. Mumbai based architect Fredrick W. Stevens (of Victoria Terminus fame) designed the building. Located at the southern corner of Lal dighee (formerly Tank Square) the building is poorly maintained. Though it has been declared as a heritage building, some of the portion has already been abandoned. Renovation is yet to start. 

A  building with multi domed tower at the Northern corner, beautiful figures in the triangular pediment in the middle cherubs (en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cherubwith musical instruments in the upper windows. Most of the figures are still in good shape. Restoration of these figures which are basically delicate artwork is extremely difficult as the specially skilled masons and the artists specialist in these kind of work is rare. 

The entrance at the north is through an arched gateway with a triangular pediment at the top. The building features the logo of the standard life's which is based on the biblical parable of the ten virgins (Matthew 25:1- 13) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parable_of_the_Ten_Virgins). 





There are two figures at the walls just below the archway and the main entrance of the building. One at the left of the archway is a young lady carrying a lamp and Grim Riper carrying a skull at the right. The two figures represents Life and Death respectively. This is the actual official logo of the company. Unfortunately these two figures are obstructed by the telegraph pole and the telegraph wires (above photos). 



















The building actually housed the Life Insurance Company of Scotland which was established in 23rd March, 1825 in Edinburgh. In 1832, the organization changed its name to The Standard Life Assurance by Royal assent. The British insurance companies were reluctant to allow their policy holders to travel let alone live in the colonies due to the very high mortality rate.
      
Standard Life pioneered insurance for British living abroad.
  • 1846- establishment of the Colonial Life Assurance Company was specifically designed to handle business in the British colonies. They could offer attractive terms based on the colonial's more accurate assessment of mortality risk in the countries concerned. 
  • 1871-  Colonial Life Assurance Company merged with the Standard. After the merger they had their head office here in Calcutta in this building and had a similar building in Mumbai. The Mumbai building is still there and have the logo at the main entrance. 

Saturday, 19 May 2012

St Andrew's Church of Calcutta


St Andrew's Church             

                           


(The above picture was taken in 1878 from the Old Court House Street)


St Andrew's Church also known as the Kirk is the only Scottish church in Kolkata and was opened to the public only on March 8, 1818. The foundation stone was laid on November 30, 1815 by Marquis of  Hastings. The Countess of Moira and the Countess of  Loudon attended the stone laying ceremony. In 1835, the clock fitted to the tower. It was designed by M/s Burn, Currie & Co. It was also known as "laat sahib ka girja" (the church of the Governor). Probably the name derived from the fact that the foundation stone was laid by the wife of the Governor General, Marquis of Hastings.
St Andrew's Church was built just at the site of Old Court House which was demolished in 1792. The street just in front of the St Andrew's Church is known as the Old Court House Street. 



St Andrew's Church, Writer's Building on the left

Address- 15 BBD Bag (North), Kolkata- 700001. West Bengal. (http://www.standrewschurch-kolkata.org/)


The Kirk from the tank square 

There was a story about the spire of the church. The first Bishop of Calcutta did not allow the erection of the spire, as he thought that only the Church of England had the authority to allow the construction of such church. Reverend Bryce, the priest of the church heard this he declared that he would not only have a steeple higher than the Cathedral Church of St John's but would also place on the top of it a cock to crow over the bishop. Bishop was deeply mortified. Later on Government declared that the entire building might be repaired by the public works department except the bird as it was a little bit controversial. The bird is still there. 

The clock on the spire

Writer's building on the left

The bird at the top of the spire







Sunday, 22 April 2012

The Currency Building of Kolkata


The Currency Building

                                                            

(Currency Building on the right. The photograph was taken in 1885. Saint Andrew's church is at the far end. The wrought iron portico in the front was not there in the picture. It was built later on.)


An Italian architecture (the arches and the circular portion just above the arches are somewhat similar to the Currency building)

Built in the year 1833 with Italian style this beautiful building was originally known as Agra Bank and Office of issue and Exchange of Government Currency later on. Once it was housed as the Reserve Bank of India till 1937. 
It was built when the Lord William Bentinck was the Governor General of the British India.  


The three storied building located just at the South- East corner of the Dalhousie Square. Large wrought iron gates, large brick arches and Venetian windows with intricate designs are the main attraction of it. The roof was arched with iron joists. The floor was covered with marble and Chunar sandstone. The commissioner who was in charge of the office had his residence here in this building. Some portion of the upper floor was covered with Italian marble. The entrance to the residence was at the back and is still there. 

The above photograph was taken in 1885

Taken in 2012 from almost the same place where the above photograph was taken in 1885. Just compare the two photographs. 




                                         
          The main entrance                           The iron portico 

             
          Unfortunately CPWD (Central Public Works Department) had started to demolish it but they had to stop. They had a plan to build a high-rise building on the particular site. But fortunately it was saved. In 1998 the entire structure was declared as a heritage building and a monument of national importance, thus a protected place. The  ASI (Archaeological Survey of India) took the charge in 2003 but got the possession only in 2005. They planned to repair and reconstruct the demolished portion of the structure. It was not an easy task to start. At first, piles of debris were removed and scaffolding were placed. Then the work of the interior was started. The lime plastered surface of the inner walls, floors and the decayed wooden staircases had to be repaired with much care.  

                                     

                            



The scaffolding in the third floor 
                                                 
(Below- A portion of the third floor from the outside)


The repairing work is still on but progress is much slower. The construction workers skilled in lime-mortar are rarely available these days. ASI officials had to find them across the state with much higher payments than the usual. 
Both the exteriors and interiors adjacent to the R N Mukherjee road have already been repaired. 
In and around April- May 2012 - 
The repairing work including the iron portico, the Western side (front) of the front has been started. 
                                                               
Presently the building housed the regional office of the ASI. 
Entry is strictly restricted inside the building. 







Town Hall- the first meeting place for the Britishers in Calcutta


                  


Lord Minto was the Governor General of British India. He took the charge on 31st July 1807. A few months later, on 1st December 1807, the foundation stone of the Town Hall of Calcutta was laid just at the eastern side of the High Court.
The plaque in front of Town Hall 

The building was completed in 1813. The architect was Col. John Garstin, the then chief engineer of the city. 
The official address of this elegant structure is 4 Esplanade Row (west). Kolkata- 700001.  

Built in Roman- Doric style, the main front portion of the structure is standing on eight long brick pillars. The two storied building covers more than 1200 sq. meters. 

(taken in the year 1865)


(Above right- a copybook example of Roman- Doric architectural column, similar to the Town hall.)


There was no meeting place for the Britishers working in Calcutta at that time. So it was constructed as a gathering place for the Britishers in the city. Rupees seven lakhs was raised from lottery for the fund. A museum was built in the ground floor which was for the public and upper floor was restricted to the invitees only. 


  • 22nd March 1814- the building was opened to the public. 
  • Some cracks were noticed in 1815.
  • In 1818 it was noticed that some of the pillars in the upper floor were found to be defective. It was repaired and Col. Garstin, the architect had to bear the cost.
  • Later on, in 1867, the then Calcutta Municipal Corporation became the official custodian of Town Hall. 



View from the upper floor veranda 

The backyard of the town hall 


  • The building was renovated and opened to the public in 1998. 
  • In 2002, the museum named Kolkata Panorama opened to the public in a new look. 

The museum depicts the making of the city of Kolkata (earlier known as Calcutta) which tells the story in audio- visual format. The entire socio economical and cultural history of the city is covered here. 

The museum reamins open everyday from 11 in the morning till 5 in the evening. 


Tickets- Tuesday to Friday- Rs. 10.00 Saturday, Sunday and other holidays- Rs. 15.00
Closed on Holi, Diwali and on every Monday.

Location-
Adjacent to the main building of the Calcutta High Court. 
(Location of Town Hall) 

How to reach-
Around 20 minutes walk from the Chandni metro station. 
Around five minutes walk from Babughat.  



Old photos courtesy- www.oldindianphotos.in